Finding my place

IMG_0373

I’m not gonna lie and say I knew all the answers when I threw myself into the world. I had a million questions and endless curiosity.

Blame my artistic side, or my foreign origin, my entrepreneur spirit, my independent  mind, my nonconformist ideas. Whatever it was or whatever it is, the need for questioning and understanding always spoke louder than the need for following. Can’t say it has not served me well, it has led me through paths without me ever knowing fear, but also has taken me to places where fitting in was never possible.

IMG_0488

From being a single mom to owning my own business, the road has being crazy, bumpy, full of unexpected turns, and amazing growth, leading to success alternated by tears, but at the end a lot of personal success.

IMG_9202

Not to mention moments of loneliness when you can’t figure people out, or figure out the system that insists on screwing people in different ways, be it for economical, social, or ethnical reasons. Then you sit at the top of the world, your own world I mean, and think… What am I doing here? I don’t want to be like everyone else.

IMG_9196

I see different colors and I draw different shapes than those around me. This is definitely not my place…

IMG_9274

I might just pack my shit and leave.

But then a tornado mistakes you by Dorothy, and picks you up and leaves you at this new fork on the road where you want to try just one more time, because after all, “not giving up” is your last name. Then you finally realize:

WHEN YOU WERE BORN IN A WORLD THAT YOU DON’T FIT IN, IT’S BECAUSE YOU WERE BORN TO CREATE A NEW ONE.

IMG_7117

Life is beautiful again when you finally understand that you don’t need to fit in, that was never the purpose of life. The purpose of life is to add something new to the existing world, something so great that nobody could have seen it without you showing to them.

 

You are welcome!

Leave a Reply

