Confidence

on

IMG_1279

He started crossing the street with such confidence that we couldn’t help but stop to watch him. His beautiful coat had a shiny orange, red, purple and gold tones that shone under the bright sunlight. The car coming opposite of me had to stop, I also had to stop and a third car coming down from the driveway stopped, while we watched him as he crossed the street on his tip-toes. Then for half a second he stopped and stared at one of the drivers. The other driver was smiling and shaking his head at this view. I wanted to ask him “Who are you? Where are you going?” Since I had never seen him in my neighborhood, before.

After he got to the sidewalk, he kept going. I didn’t move, just stared at him. He looked back at me with those tinny little eyes and said: “Confidence my dear! Confidence is everything.”

In all of his 12 inches height, with one of his beautiful feathers broken and pointing down while the rest of his tail pointed up, he kept walking without a doubt that he was amazing.  I don’t really know where he was going, but he had grace and poise, walking on his tip-toes.

That pheasant was beautiful, he was out of place, but beautiful.

IMG_1278

Leave a Reply

