Behind the scenes

IMG_2247

IMG_2091Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays, certainly because of its food but also because of the Autumn colors.  Turkey, cranberry sauce, pumpkin pie, green beans casserole, sweet potatoes and all, they tell the story of long ago when the native Americans and the new Americans celebrated their survival and then had this feast together that lasted about three days. It was the beginning of a story between two races in a new nation. Now with so many races and cultures living under one starry roof, I wonder if everyone still sees the meaning of Thanksgiving as it originally was meant to be?
IMG_2255IMG_2257

As a foreigner, but not so foreigner, I feel the meaning of this Holiday as a welcome to this country. Even after living here for 23 years I still stop to think about it, how cool it is to feel at home when far away from home. It doesn’t matter if many times I cooked for only four or three people. We enjoyed the meal and lingered around lazily over the couch afterwords.
IMG_2259

This year I wanted to try something different and share the excitement of decorating the table.

With the help of my daughter, who shot the pictures standing from two high stools, I quickly changed the items for each of those 160 frames. Yes it was pretty much like an animation video with clay figures where each movement is a combination of little sequential moves. The table setting was pretty as a final result and the movie came out ok. I learned what worked and what didn’t.

And that’s exactly my approach towards everything in life: I want to self impose new lessons and challenges on myself.  Boring will be the day when I wake up and say: I know everything now. I want to be a forever student who is always learning.

Below are images of the before, when I had different items to study and try to see what could go with what. Which table cloth to chose from? And dishes? And which small accent items?  Daughter next to me taking everything very seriously and giving her opinion, practicing the art of napkin folding… Yes, my home is a permanent lab where we invent things and every room is a work place.

How do you decorate for Thanksgiving? What’s your favorite thing about this holiday?

IMG_2260 IMG_2261

Leave a Reply

